Speed ââis a fairly common, albeit incredibly dangerous, driving habit. Higher speeds can contribute to more crashes and more serious crashes. Even if you don’t cause a speeding accident, every Arkansas speeding ticket has consequences that can last for years after the ticket. You may owe fines, face a license suspension, and even risk jail time if you’re a chronic offender.
Your speeding ticket in Arkansas also has an impact on your auto insurance. The average cost of auto insurance in Arkansas rises 25% after a speeding ticket, according to Bankrate’s 2021 study of annual listed premiums.
How much does a speeding ticket cost in Arkansas?
How much does your insurance increase after speeding? The cost of your speeding ticket will vary depending on the circumstances. As a general rule, the faster you exceed the speed limit, the more likely you are to pay fines. If you are cited for exceeding the speed limit by 15 miles per hour or more, it can be considered a serious offense and the penalties will likely be more severe.
How Much Does a Speeding Ticket Increase Your Car Insurance in Arkansas?
The fine you pay for a ticket isn’t the only financial consequence. You will also likely be faced with an increase in auto insurance premiums as a result of a speeding ticket in Arkansas. The average rate of increase is 25%, although your age and gender also play a role. Auto insurance laws in Arkansas also play a role in determining how much a company will charge for your ticket.
Your gender is important because men are statistically more likely engaging in risky driving behavior, and accidents caused by male drivers are generally more serious than those caused by female drivers. For this reason, men are often viewed as riskier drivers and pay higher rates, especially after a traffic ticket.
Average annual premium for full coverage
|Age||Price before speeding||Rate after speeding||% to augment|
|40 year old man||$ 1,902||$ 2,422||27%|
|40 year old woman||$ 1,926||$ 2,353||22%|
|Total average||$ 1,914||$ 2,388||25%|
Age matters because young drivers, especially teens, tend to have higher base premiums than more experienced drivers, so their increases may be more severe after a traffic ticket.
How To Reduce Your Auto Insurance After Speeding In Arkansas
While your premium may increase after an Arkansas speeding ticket, there are still ways to save money on your auto insurance. Note that the average overall cost of auto insurance in Arkansas is $ 1,914, although your own rates may differ.
Get quotes from other auto insurance companies
Some auto insurance companies price tickets more heavily than others, so you may find another company that offers you a lower premium. The best car insurance company in Arkansas will vary based on your own needs, but getting quotes can help you compare prices and coverage offers. The table below shows the rates for several popular Arkansas insurance companies before and after a ticket.
Average Annual Full Coverage Premium per Auto Insurance Company in Arkansas
|Auto insurance company||Price before speeding||Rate after speeding|
|AAA||$ 1,454||$ 2,181|
|Alfa||$ 2,044||$ 2,750|
|Allstate||$ 3,039||$ 3,100|
|Cameron Mutual||$ 1,720||$ 1,827|
|Farmers||$ 1,150||$ 1,471|
|At national scale||$ 1,350||$ 1,634|
|Progressive||$ 1,492||$ 2,292|
|Sentinel||$ 2,619||$ 2,798|
|Shelter||$ 1,862||$ 2,535|
|State farm||$ 1,281||$ 1,301|
|Hanover||$ 4,183||$ 5,952|
|United States||$ 1,142||$ 1,342|
* Premiums are the average annual premiums for full coverage for people 40 years of age
While cost may be your primary consideration, you may want to take note of the customer service you receive, the financial stability of each business, and the breadth of coverage options and discounts when looking for the provider you need. best suited.
Sign up for discounts
Most major insurance companies offer discounts to help save you money. Telematic discounts are among the most recent; these discounts involve the use of a smartphone app or plug-in device in your car to track your driving habits. If you maintain good driving habits after your ticket, you could save money. Just be aware that some companies may also increase your premium if your driving data shows that you engage in risky behavior. You can also consider consolidating your auto and home insurance, purchasing paperless statements, or setting up automatic payments.
Maintain a good driving record in the future
Avoiding extra tickets, accidents, and DUI convictions is one of the best ways to keep your premium from increasing even more. Insurance companies typically overtax three to five year tickets. After this point, you may see your rates drop. If you’ve avoided additional issues on your driving record, you may see your rate drop to about the level it was before your speeding ticket.
Other considerations for speeding tickets
In addition to the fine you might have to pay after an Arkansas speeding ticket and your increased insurance premiums, you may face other penalties. You can have points assessed on your license. You may also be required to appear in court and, depending on the circumstances of your contravention, your license may be suspended. If you are a repeat offender, your speed was excessive, or you caused an accident with injury or death, you could face jail time.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the best auto insurance company for speeding drivers?
To find the best auto insurance company in Arkansas after speeding, you may want to make a list of your wants and needs. The best company for you is the one that gives you the coverage options, discounts, and policy features you need at an affordable price.
What if i can’t pay for my insurance after speeding?
Your insurance premiums are likely to increase after a traffic ticket, but you must keep your policy in force. Driving without insurance in Arkansas is illegal and can result in fines, license suspension, and jail time. If you cause an accident without insurance, you will have to pay for the damages you cause out of pocket. If your post-ticket insurance is too important for your budget, contact your carrier to discuss any discounts you might be missing. You can also shop around for your policy with other companies to see if you can find a lower rate.
Will having points on my license increase my insurance?
Probably. You will likely have Arkansas insurance points on your license if you have committed an offense such as speeding. Insurers view scores and a history of driving violations as evidence of risky driving behavior, which could indicate that you are more likely to engage in risky behavior in the future.
Bankrate uses Quadrant Information Services to analyze 2021 rates for all zip codes and carriers in all 50 states and Washington, DC Rates shown are based on a 40 year old male and female driver with a clean driving record , good credit and the following comprehensive coverage limits:
- $ 100,000 in civil liability for bodily injury per person
- $ 300,000 liability for bodily injury per accident
- Civil liability for property damage of $ 50,000 per accident
- $ 100,000 in bodily injury caused by an uninsured motorist per person
- $ 300,000 in uninsured bodily injury per accident to a motorist
- $ 500 collision deductible
- Global deductible of $ 500
To determine the minimum coverage limits, Bankrate used a minimum coverage that meets the requirements of each state. Our basic profile drivers own a 2019 Toyota Camry, commute five days a week and cover 12,000 miles a year.
These are sample rates and should be used for comparison purposes only.
Incidents: The rates were calculated by evaluating our basic profile with the following incidents applied: clean criminal record (basic), simple speeding.
Age: The rates have been calculated by evaluating our basic profile with the ages 18-60 (base: 40 years) applied. Depending on the age, drivers can be renters or owners. Hawaii rates indicate that age is not a contributing factor.
Kind: The following states do not use gender as a determining factor in calculating premiums: California, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Michigan, Montana, North Carolina, Pennsylvania.